Rosenallis Community Online  

Rosenallis ICA Guild

The Irish Countrywomen's Association is a democratic, non-denominational, inclusive organisation representing 14,000 members in almost 1000 guilds nationwide. Founded almost one hundred years ago in 1910, it has been at the forefront in seeking change to improve the standard of living and opportunities for women, their families and the wider community. The I.C.A. reflects the richness of life experiences of women across Ireland with different backgrounds, roles, abilities and ages.

Our guild of the I.C.A was founded on 3rd October 1966. There was a large attendance at that first meeting and we are very proud to say that now, 41 years later, we still have 4 of the founder members with us. Currently there are 20 members in the guild.

Throughout the years we have worked very hard in the community. Though some of the faces have changed, the solidarity of the guild remains. We meet monthly at the Green School in the village. Along with the usual business of the meeting we often have classes, demonstrations or talks on items of interest. We have had classes on C.P.R from the Irish Heart Foundation, talks on breast cancer, depression, drugs and budgeting & home finances. Also cookery, needlework and arts & crafts classes - something for everyone. We were also instrumental in bringing the Community Alert scheme to the area.

We have through the years we have been kept very busy with catering at local functions and holding sponsored walks and coffee mornings for charity. We recently received a grant from the government to buy furniture and equipment for the Green School which makes it more comfortable for everyone. The school is owned by the Church of Ireland and needless to say, they were delighted with the improvements.

For further information on the ICA, please visit

Committee Members & Contact Information

President: Sally Egan (057 862 8656)
Treasurer: Maureen Poole
Secretary: Helena Keegan (057 862 8768)
P.R.O.: Maureen Bloomer
Contest Secretary: Brigid Mooney
Hostess Secretary: Pauline Lowndes